glass everywhere

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• glass everywhere

hi all i have got my allotment recently and every spadeful of earth i turn over seems to be full of glass! there is too much to pick out (tiny shards to big pices)maybe a smashed up greenhouse before me? anyway what kind of problems could this cause? could it contaminate my potatoes , onions etc? sorry if this seems a naive question but I'm just starting out. many thanks.

I am always picking glass out at my two plots and no harm has been done yet. The site was a council garden dumping area and there is allsorts coming up all the time. Just pick out as it appears.
    Gardening ..... begins with daybreak
    and ends with backache

Comment

that's a enthusiasm boost. can it grow inside anything? or am i been paranoid :-) thank you for quick reply!

Comment

Originally posted by lola & tom View Post
        that's a enthusiasm boost. can it grow inside anything? or am i been paranoid :-) thank you for quick reply!
        No more than the stones in the soil will.

Comment

Originally posted by PAULW View Post
          No more than the stones in the soil will.
          do stones ever grow in potatoes? cant imagine eating a potato with a shard of glass in but surely cant be too careful?

Comment

I have yet to find anything growing in any veg that I have grown from seed in the ground. The plant just seems to push it out of the way as it grows. The comercial growers dont get things inside so why should we.
            Gardening ..... begins with daybreak
            and ends with backache

Comment

The only thing that you are going to get glass in is your finger tips but unless it is really new glass the edges have usually been taken off

Comment

do stones ever grow in potatoes? cant imagine eating a potato with a shard of glass in but surely cant be too careful?