Potatoes at Christmas

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potatoes at Christmas

I know, a big groan, but I would like to grow potatoes for Christmas. I have never done this before, so, what type would you recommend, keeping in mind the I'm a Maris Piper person.

I intend to use containers, so what size would you recommend, and what is the best way to grow them
    James the novice

I usually use Maris Peer, Charlotte or Elizabeth and but 3 in a tub ( biggest I could get from the £shop about 18"diameter.

Plant them in about 3" of compost I usually add a bit of Potato fertiliser and cover with another 3" then when they are about 6" tall top them up with another 3"-4" and keep going. I normally plant around September and then they go into the greenhouse to keep them frost free and if the tops die off leave them in the tubs as they will keep in the moist compost for ages. Then come Chrimbo bask in the glory that you have earned (don't forget that you'll have to sow your Kelsae Onions Boxing day so that gets you out of the washing up
    ntg
    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
    A large group of professionals built the Titanic
    ==================================================

Comment

Excellent advice...I grow Vales Emporer....always found to be great for me.
      Geordie

Te audire non possum. Musa sapientum fixa est in aure

Comment

Hi Geordie,

You're rarer than me on here Trust you are well?
        ntg

Comment

Flipping heck!!!!!

The two of you on at the same time!

Hello to you both!
          "Nicos, Queen of Gooooogle" and... GYO's own Miss Marple

Location....Normandy France

Comment

see you thought we were the same person didn't you
            ntg

Comment

Are seed potatoes available in the garden centres at this time of year?

Comment

seed potatoes available in our local GC...ive got pentland javelin to plant soon

Comment