Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Man....or Muppet?

Hi, newbie here.
    Joined the chicken revolution last November, bought the coop with run, filled it with 3 POL Warrens,a Light Sussex and a Polish; read all I could about keeping them, fed them, nurtured them...and the eggs have been rolling in ever since. This year the Sussex became broody (figured this when all the eggs were missing and had to lift the growling hen off a dozen which she'd pilfered!) so I separated her and sat her on half a dozen random eggs from a friend who has cockerels...and doubled my chicken count by 5 of the 6 hatching (4 banties of unknown breeds to my untrained eye and a lovely Orpington.)
    So, 6 weeks down the line I think hey, time to put the Sussex back in with the rest along with the chicks before she abandons them, since she'll protect them for now and she was the head of the roost prior to broodiness...makes sense to me. Unfortunately nobody warned me that the bloody dopey Polish would suddenly become the most aggressive creature since my ex wife, bullying both chicks and mother hen. I left it a day but had to move the chicks back to the other run after the Orp took a nasty head peck, but I left the Sussex in with her old gang and after a couple of days everything was back to normal.