New official needs advice

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New official needs advice

I have recently been elected (persuaded) to become secretary of our local association primarily because no one else wanted to do it. Thing is I have no experience of running committes or such things and it is really a baptism of fire since a couple of plots are in the firing line to be lost for development (council say they will move plotholders but nearest site is 2 miles away)

Association numbers are down although there are about 10 committee members who usually turn up to things. There were some issues last year which resulted in some heated meetings which I think caused people to leave and to be honest it would have included me if I had not been on the committee. There is some lottery funding which needs to be dealt with but there are now some objections to its use.

The treasurer rarely turns up and he is the one with all the information about members which I have asked him for. We have noticeboards but the council will not allow us to have the details of all plotholders - Data Protection. We have meetings each month but numbers have really dropped off.

Clearly I need to organise a membership drive and some social events but I am really a bit lost as to what else. Everyone seems to want things to happen but doesn't want to get involved.

A couple of schools have plots so I was thinking of contacting them to see if they would like anything from the association.

Thanks for all your thoughts

Apologies for sounding a little down - just feeling a bit overwhelmed!

I think the previous officials bit off a bit much trying to get funding before getting membership up and running so I feel like I am back tracking all the time. Whilst I am quite keen to get things moving I am really at a loss of where to start.