Potato dibber

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potato dibber

Hi this is my first attempt .I recently came across a home made potato dibber ,it was from a long piece of wood the bottom pointed and about 8" from the bottom a piece of dowling or similar was put in and then at a comfortable hight another piece inserted as a handle,no bending brilliant ,but where did I see it have looked through various magazines I have but can't find it. Please can somone put me out of my misery and tell me I didn't omagine it and where can I find instructions again .Thanks

I just use a trowel to plant my spuds.

With your homemade wotsit, you say no bending, but how do you get the spud in the ground? Still gotta bend to do that.
    Or am I missing a trick here?
    All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Was it an old spade handle, sharpened to a point with a piece of dowelling at the 'spud depth'?

Comment

Bloke with a bad back who has an allotment close to mine has a long handled dibber made from a broken spade shaft and he literally throws the seed spuds into the dibbled hole!
        No good for sprouted earlies though!
        My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
        to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

This is antique tater bodger that i use for spud's and brassica's that are grown in pots .
          It was used by my FIL in the 1930's before they had tater planters imagine useing one of them for a day or two....jacob
          Last edited by jacob marley; 21-05-2009, 04:51 PM.
          What lies behind us,And what lies before us,Are tiny matters compared to what lies Within us ...
          Ralph Waide Emmerson

Comment

By gum that makes your eyes water!
            Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment