black fly I think

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• black fly I think

I have a nice mock orange in the back garden and I noticed today that a couple of the tips are covered in little black bugs and the shoots seem to be wilting, this does not affect the whole plant. I have heard that a soap solution is the thing to use.

Silly question number one. Does it matter what soap you use?

Silly question number two. How do I apply it?

Silly question number three. Whats the mix to water?

Originally posted by Percy T View Post
    I have a nice mock orange in the back garden and I noticed today that a couple of the tips are covered in little black bugs and the shoots seem to be wilting, this does not affect the whole plant. I have heard that a soap solution is the thing to use.

I'm only a newbie, Percy, but with broad beans you pinch the tips out - so would that be a solution here?

Comment

Originally posted by Percy T View Post

Silly answer 1 - fairy liquid is OK the "proper" one is soft soap but that can be hard to fnd

Silly answer 2 - a spray bottle dear Percy , dear Percy, dear Percy. a spray bottle dear Percy , dear Percy a spray bottle ( well I did say it was a sill answer )

Silly answer 3 - doesn't really matter, you are just using it to drown the aphids by getting the water to stick to the waxy coating so if you use a pint spray I'd go for 2 or 3 drops of Fairy, bit more if its a supermarket own brand.
      ntg
      Never be afraid to try something new.
      Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
      A large group of professionals built the Titanic
      ==================================================

Comment

Spot on Nick - gurus don't get to be gurus if they're not! I also wouldn't nip out the tips. Your broadies are usually as tall as they'll get when you nip them out. With a mock orange you might be losing flower shoots or at least, you'll distort the shape of the bush.