Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maggots in my pepper pots.

Hi People,

I've been browsing these forums for a while but this is my first post. I've found so much useful info so thanks to everyone that contributes.

Its my first year of growing seriously and I've had some great successes on the Chilli, Carrot, French Bean and Cucumber front.

However, a little late in the season (end of may I think) I decided to plant some Jalapeno and Golden Nugget Tom seeds. All went well starting off in my heated propagator, and then on to a bedroom windowsill. I then potted on and decided to harden off the Chillis and Toms in my greenhouse.

I'd gotten a bit sick of paying out loads for B&Q compost and decided to purchase a few bags of topsoil from a local supplier to mix with the compost when potting up my vegies, so I promptly mixed up some of the new topsoil and compost adding some B&Q organic veg food (which I think might be chicken manure) in to the mix.

A few weeks after this I noticed that the plants I'd potted on in to this mix weren't doing so well and started to notice a sulphur like smell when I watered them. Anywhoo, as I wasnt sure how to proceed I just kept on caring for them in the way that I had with my other (more successful) plants from earlier in the season. Until just last week when I came to water them, I got the usual sulphur type smell, however this time (to my disgust) the water that ran out the bottom of the pot in to the saucer contained about 7 or 8 thin maggot type creatures squirming around. This was the same for each of the Chillis, at which point I promptly binned the poorly fellows along with their maggoty companions (which were also present in the soil of the Toms).