Boo hoo im under attack :(

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boo hoo im under attack :(

Im totally new to growing and my first plants are starting to show. But all of a sudden 2 days ago my leafs seems to be disapearing. I presume there some sort of aphid or mite, thats eating them. Theres little white spots underneath the leaves and half the leaves missing..

what is best way to deal with it ?.. I would prefer to use natural ways and not use pesticides etc, if it can be helped.

any advice ?

I believe the plant is califlour or cabbage.. Cannot remember as i forgot to mark them when i planted.. ( newbie mistake )
    My little site

Newman, could it be pigeons? Are the plants netted? Pigeons stripped my daughter's beds last year, she didn't get a single thing. What the birds didn't get, the cabbage white did!!
    If it's slugs and you want organic then Growing Success pellets will do the job. Organic, the slugs having ingested the pellet then bury themselves in the soil so nothing left for a bird to eat.
    They are not as efficient as the non-organic but safer all round.
    I'd certainly think of netting if I were you. Sanjo
    Last edited by Sanjo; 25-06-2009, 01:15 PM.

Comment

the second picture looks like damage from flea beetles. My rocket look exactly the same and it took me a long time to realize it was those tiny little buggers !!

Comment

Could be pidgeons i guess. there are some nesting in the next garden in a big fir tree. Although i never see them in my garden. Will invest in some netting.. (didnt know pidgeons ate veggie plants)

Also i just checked again and noticed little white flys.. which ive read to be cabbage whitefly. And treatment "bifenthrin". Sounds nasty, gonna have to google it and see..

also done some research and thought about flea beetle.. Maybe i got 2 problems.. grr those pesky critters.

many thanks
        My little site

Comment

Originally posted by newmannewy View Post