Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Early or Late Blight?

Hi everyone

I'm new to all this, have had an allotment since October, been busy fighting off the bindweed etc. and finally getting to harvest a few things now. I'm a complete novice, so pleased I've managed to grow anything at all, but disappointed there's not more success.

Anyway, we've started harvesting our potatoes but I've got a nasty feeling we've got blight. The leaves are yellowing and there are brown dry patches. The earlies are worst, but the maincrop have a few spots as well.

I've just done a bit of research online, but I can't work out how I know if it is late or early blight - early doesn't seem so serious?

I'm worried about upsetting my neighbouring plot holders if I don't deal with it right, but don't know what to do! Their potatoes look ok, but some other plots look similar to ours. One is much worse than ours, that's a few plots away.

The varieties are accent and desiree, bought from the allotment shop. The last plot holder grew his potatoes on the opposite side and other end to where we have ours (I know this because I've had to pick out all the old ones coming through over there!).

So far the tubers seem fine and tasty, and are quite large.

Also, my tomatoes are next to the potatoes - not really really close, but close enough that I'm worried about them too...

Sorry to have rambled on so much, but can anyone offer some advice please? I'm so clueless!

Thanks

Michelle

Michelle welcome to the mad house! Yellowing on the leaves turning brown sounds more like magnesium deficiency. Blight is brown patches and if you look under the leaf there should be blight spots with a white mould fringe around them in damp weather. You will know when you have blight. When we got blight two years ago all the foliage got attacked, the potatoes were rotten and all the tomatoes turned brown.
    [

Comment