Old compost

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old compost

I hope somebody can help. I'm a complete garden novice so please don't presume I know anything!

When I bought my house nearly 3 years ago the garden was beautiful. Fully stocked but sadly far too high maintenance for my husband and I. We've done very little to it since then apart from cutting plants back and mowing the lawn. This year we've decided to make it our project.

I'm wanting to make the borders smaller and add more lawn but don't know how to move plants to different areas eg beautiful hydrangea. Also I'd like to make a simple vegetable patch. There's already a raised bed in a sunny spot which I think would be ideal?!?! Any suggestions on where to start?

There is a full compost bin that we have never touched. Will it still be any good? Or do I need to take it to the tip and start again???

Thanks in advance x

Hi, I'm no expert and I'm sure someone more qualified will comment soon but here goes...

I would say the homemade compost is fine, I don t think it goes 'off' BUT do check it carefully for weeds or anything that is growing.. In that case I wouldn't use it as it will just spread seeds / weeds around and cause problems. (My new house has a compost bit that is sprouting, a lot! So I'm going to have to get rid if it somehow and start my own.

In terms of moving plants it would depends what it is but I would normally say dig up as much of the root ball as you can and probably pre-water the hole you are going to put it in and mix some compost or something into the new hole too. Some plants will be more sensitive than others so will be better off being moved at appropriate times of the year although I can't advice you when!! You mention hydrangeas and I know they are just starting to grow again now, I would guess that means it's not an ideal time to move them... But I may be completely wrong!!