Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compost advice needed

Hello.

I've been compiosting at my allotment for a couple of years without any problems. Recently I bought a house with a garden for the first time. I have now started a new compost bin in my garden but have found it completely infested with little flies. Every time I open the bin a huge cloud flies out into my face. Not nice. This is so unpleasant that my wife is refusing to use it.

One of the first jobs I did was to savagely prune a large hedge, most of the leaves went into the bin. Could this be to blame? Does anyone have any suggestions on how to cure my fly problem!

HELP!!

Are you tending to throw more fruit into the home bin than the lotty one?

The flies could be a type of fruit fly.

PS welcome to the vine, I bet you will get lots of answers to your questions here!
    Last edited by Digger-07; 25-05-2007, 10:43 AM.
    Digger-07

"If you think you can, or think you can't, you're right" Henry Ford.

Comment

Not much fruit in particular. It's more like peelings and bits of left over salad &veg.

Comment

I leave the lid off so that they fly away.

Comment

Id say its because its a new bin and it will take a bit of time for all the bugs and beasties to establish themselves in the right proportions and till then you might get boom n bust population explosions of different things.
          Leave the lid off and keep adding a good mix of browns and greens and it should sort itself out.

Comment

I often get swarms of little flies in mine. Doesn't bother me, I consider it part of the breaking down process (like the worms). However, I do put the remains of fruit from my winemaking in there. The little perishers can't fly straight!
            Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment