terracing the slope

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• terracing the slope

Anyone got an bright ideas on how I do this on CHALK?
    We have an inch or 2 of topsoil (apart from a few patches with none) over chalk, and a slope steep enough to be a nuisance (hence if I add compost it slides down the slope). I reckon terracing a small area would help, but no idea what tools would be needed to dig into the chalk for the purpose.....
    Flowers come in too many colours to see the world in black-and-white.

I have used my rotovator to do all my terracing.
    I'm not sure whether it would be any good on your chalk though?! I only have clay to contend with...................... (and huge stones). Assuming it isn't rock hard chalk it could be worth a go.
    Tx

Comment

i have a railway embankment (disused) at the bottom of my garden and to the side of my plot - it separates the two and i want to terrace it but its made of stones and basic c*** - i have managed to put in some steps - the kind you make from logs just by digging and bashing down (technical term, that) literally by hand.On the river side when you dig in it just slides away but am going to try the log steps that side too....dont suppose this helps with your chalk.................
      http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...gs/jardiniere/

Comment

Surely if you are terracing you don't need to dig into anything?

Just put the front edge of the beds at the required height (railway sleepers are good) and fill in with topsoil to make it level!

Or am I mssing something?...................... like you don't want to import any topsoil?
        My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
        to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

Originally posted by Snadger View Post
          Surely if you are terracing you don't need to dig into anything?