Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Composting wine corks

Hi I'm new to composting.
    Had a bottle of wine last night (as you do). Just wondered if the natural cork would break down fast enough in my dalek type compost bin? Don't get many wine bottles with corks these days but shame to put into landfill if they will compost down quick enough. Anyone here compost their corks?

Thanks.

Cork is tree bark so very woody and slow to compost. That said I'd cut it up into smaller sizes and add to the compost.
    Mark

Vegetable Kingdom blog

Comment

Or, grow your own grapes and use them as mulch!

Comment

Or save them up and make a Christmas wreath like wot LadyWayne is doing. She was shown how to on a "perfect Christmas" course she and a friend attended at Le Manoir au Quait Saisons last year.

We've got a carrier bag full to bursting of them!
        A simple dude trying to grow veg. http://haywayne.blogspot.com/

BLOG UPDATED! http://haywayne.blogspot.com/2012/01...ar-demand.html 30/01/2012

Practise makes us a little better, it doesn't make us perfect.

What would Vedder do?

Comment

I throw them into my compost bin. When I sift it, I just put anything uncomposted and lumpy back in again for another go
          All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

I put the natural cork ones into the compost bin and the plastic ones on top of any garden canes so I don't poke my eye out on them.

It's the only reason I drink wine of course - for the corks :-)

Comment

Originally posted by Johnny Appleseed View Post
              I put the natural cork ones into the compost bin and the plastic ones on top of any garden canes so I don't poke my eye out on them.

It's the only reason I drink wine of course - for the corks :-)
              What's your excuse for screw top wine bottles?
              Mark

Vegetable Kingdom blog

Comment

"... the plastic ones on top of any garden canes so I don't poke my eye out on them"