Dying Bees on my Buddleia

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dying Bees on my Buddleia

Hi everyone, I was just wondering if this is something anyone has come across . I know there is an increase in dying bumblebees and have seen quite a few myself on my travels. But coming home this evening and walking past the buddleia on my drive I noticed several actually dead, or seemingly so, on the bush. I have noticed a few dead and a few lethargic ones around the area for the past few weeks.

The plant has lots of purple flowers but also brown ones which have died away already, I thought it may have been the wet weather, a lot of the osteospurmums have died away as well. Could it be something toxic or a disease or has a pest?

I feel really sorry for then apart from them being an very necessary part of the ecosystem not least my garden!!

Would be interested in any thoughts. Many thanks L

Welcome to the Vine Lawick.
    I'm no expert on bees or anything else but a few thoughts for you.
    I have very many bees in my garden.
    I've seen a few dead or dying bees.
    I don't use any chemicals so I'm sure it's nothing I'm doing.
    Bees have a life expectancy like all else, they have accidents, they have reasons why they die - just like us.
    They are very temperature sensitive and can't fly once their temp goes below a certain figure (I think it's 33 degrees but I could be raving)
    They can only carry a certain weight but sometimes get carried away and go beyond that and can't fly and have to stay out all night and get cold and can't fly until they heat up and sometimes they die - or look dying.
    I might have dreamt all this Lawick.
    See what others think.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment