X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• japanese onion sets

Hi,
    sorry for this but I'm a newbie

Can you buy japanese onions (as described in this month's mag) as bulbs or only seed ?
    If bulb, where can I find them, as my local Garden Centre do not stock them.

thanks in advance

mark

Hi mark, I was lucky in that both my local Garden Centres had the onion sets & garlic sets. I have also seen them in Wilkinsons. All the big seed firms should supply them, you can even order online! I have some growing from seed as well but I think it may be a bit late to sow seed now. Keep looking and I am sure you wil find some I am sure some of the grapes will let you know of other places to find them too!

Welcome to the vine by-the-way
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

hi mark
      Excellent question - i like the look of these too. i looked in my local Garden center but didnt find any.
      To add to this question when we have found them, how / what / when is the best time /place/condictions to grow them in?

Where in UK are you? Reason for asking is that if I find some locally it may be local to you too.
      Last edited by denise; 19-09-2006, 08:55 AM.
      Denise xox

Learn from the mistakes of others because you'll never live long enough to make them all yourself.
      -- Alfred E. Neumann
      http://denise-growingmyown.blogspot.com//

Comment

I got mine off ebay! around 1.90 for 50 sets, plus £2 p&P. I got Senshyu again, and I'm trying Radar too this year. Just type in onion sets into the search and you should find them nae bother.

Dwell simply ~ love richly

Comment

I was lucky too,my local g.c. had both garlic and onion sets but again search round or on-line.