Onions!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Onions!

Hello, i have a silly question! as i'm still new to veg growing can anyone please let me know if onions grown from sets need to be dried out for a period of time before being used as is with seed grown onions as nowhere in any book i have says this and on the onion set packet i bought it just read "harvest after 4 months" Many thanks in advance - nelvis.

Hi Nelvis,

I always lift mine & dry them out before storing them, it helps to keep them as the bulbs rippen off. I usually spread them out on the greenhous staging with the laeves poke thru the slats so the sun can get to the whole bulb
    ntg
    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
    A large group of professionals built the Titanic
    ==================================================

Comment

Hi Nelvis. As Nick says they do need drying out before storing but if you fancy some lovely home grown onion on your cheese sandwiche before they are ready, there is nothing to stop you digging one up and eating it fresh!
      [

Comment

Hi, Many thanks nick the grief and lesley jay for your replies to my question. My wife and i both had a rather splendid cheese and freeeeeeeeesh onion sarnie earlier today, Many thanks again!!

Comment

I'm glad you both had it Nelvis other wise one of you would be suffering They doo taste good though don't they. I think i've got through aabout 6 onions this week on sarnies, I'm supposed to be storing them
          ntg
          Never be afraid to try something new.
          Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.
          A large group of professionals built the Titanic
          ==================================================

Comment

Originally posted by nick the grief
            I think i've got through aabout 6 onions this week on sarnies
            Nick, I'm glad I don't live in your house
            Last edited by Shortie; 14-07-2006, 11:20 PM.