Its just too damp in there

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Its just too damp in there

I have a question for you experienced peeps .....

I'm new at growing my own. I caught the bug in early spring and bought myself one of these PVC covered growhouses. Decent size for a starter and I can get in it and tend to my new seedlings - but here's my question - Its never dry in there. I know its partly due to the weather being so miserable but there is a permanent layer of condensation on the inside of it. I barely have to water oin there at the moment as it "rains" so regularly and stays so moist. I am starting to grow green or brown algae on some of the compost too.

I know its probably just the weather but I just wanted to pick your brains.

Here it is

Thanks everyone
    Attached Files
    Newbie but learning fast.

Is the growhouse ventilated at all? How close are your plants spaced? They may be too close together, creating extra humidity. Do you have any type of flooring that is able to drained?

Comment

I think ventilation of some kind would help maybe leave the door open slightly while weather is not being nasty but i'm no expert sure someone will be along to offer sound advice

When i looked at the position of your growhouse and what its sitting on my very first thought was (and i do mean very first) ooooo 8 * 6 GH would go lovely there

Comment

You're watering too much, and you need to open those zips to let the condensation out
        All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

I have a smaller version than you. It just has 4 shelves in it and I leave the 'door' open during the day now as temperatures are getting higher. In fact I have left it open all night aswell, last night included, but I haven't got anything in there that requires more heat like peppers or tomatoes.

Comment