Grow light garden.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grow light garden.

I have recently seen the Garland Grow Light Garden advertised and am quite interested as if it does what it 'says on the can' it could be a good improvement on my present setup.

Has anyone any experience of these and if so your thoughts would be welcome.

Colin.
    Potty by name Potty by nature.

By appointment of VeggieChicken Member of the Nutters club.

We hang petty thieves and appoint great ones to public office.

Aesop 620BC-560BC

sigpic

gotta link?

mmmmmmmmm
    All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Garland Grow Light Garden

looks a bit gimicky and expensive to me but im a total novice!!
      May the road rise to meet you,
      May the wind be always at your back,
      May the sun shine warm upon your face,
      The rains fall soft upon your fields and,
      Until we meet again, May God hold you in the palm of His hand

Comment

I think the growing area is rather small. Fluorescence tubes are really only any use for seedlings as they have to be very close to the plants (about 2" - 3") - which becomes a bit tricky if you have things of different heights and they don't produce enough light to penetrate the canopy of bushy plants.

I have a 400W Metal Halide growing lamp which:

Cost about 25% more (£100 rather than £75)
        will cover 4 times the area
        doesn't have to be so close to the plants
        will penetrate bushy plants (I have some plants under mine that are 4' tall)
        will output twice as much light "strength" [lumens] (per unit area)
        will use about 50% more electricity

the £100 I spent on mine included a timer - couldn't see one included for the Garland Grow Light Garden (running it 24/7 would negate the saving in electricity over Metal Halide!)
        K's Garden blog the story of the creation of our garden

Comment

Thanks for the replies so far.