What to grow for winter

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to grow for winter

Hiya, I am very new to all this but my OH has built me a very small (4 foot by 2 foot) polycarbonate greenhouse which I have grown some tomatoes in. As these will soon be finished I have been trying to figure out what is best to try to grow in there in the winter (in pots as it is on the patio) and am really not sure. My garden faces north east and my greenhouse only gets some direct sun in the early morning although I would not say my back garden was dark.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated !

Originally posted by minicrank View Post
    Hiya, I am very new to all this but my OH has built me a very small (4 foot by 2 foot) polycarbonate greenhouse which I have grown some tomatoes in. As these will soon be finished I have been trying to figure out what is best to try to grow in there in the winter (in pots as it is on the patio) and am really not sure. My garden faces north east and my greenhouse only gets some direct sun in the early morning although I would not say my back garden was dark.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated !
    One PSB?............nope, forget that, not enough room!eek
    Last edited by Snadger; 27-08-2008, 07:38 PM.
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

How about some perpetual spinach or swiss chard - both CCA crops which will let you pick fresh leafy veg throughout the winter.
      Rat

British by birth
      Scottish by the Grace of God

http://scotsburngarden.blogspot.com/
      http://davethegardener.blogspot.com/

Comment

I also would suggest CCA including lettuces, chard, spinach, etc., as Sewer Rat has suggested. Maybe some parsley and mint as well. If you can move it into the most sunny, sheltered position in your garden it may help.

TGR
        TGR

Comment