Bulbs in containers

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bulbs in containers

I'm not sure where to begin with this. I'm new to gardening of all types so know next to nothing (best thing is to pretend you are talking to a 5 year old when advising me). I want to plant some bulbs for the spring. Have to be in containers as I have no garden. I have heard bulbs are best planted "in the green" but I have some bulbs I have bought and want to plant them in the hope that I will get some flowers in the spring. What I really want to know is how do I do it all?! I think I want 3 main containers - one with snowdrops and nothing else. I love snowdrops and am depressed about the lack of snowdrops around here so am hoping for a container full of them. Another one with crocuses (and maybe something else mixed in there but I don't know what). Finally, I have a wooden barrel planter that I want to fill with tulips.

So - what do I do?

when do I plant them? instructions say things like plant between september and december. so when do I plant them? now? october? november?... if I plant them now will they come up earlier than if I plant them later? If I have bought bulbs am I best of just getting them planted rather than storing them? I don't have much room outside at the moment due to all my tomato plants.

what compost do I use? I have seen something called bulb compost - do I need that? will multi purpose compost do?

when they're planted and put outside do they need to be covered, wrapped in fleece or anything like that? or can I just leave them? do I need to water them or just leave them to the elements? I think I will need some anti squirrel measures as they are the bane of my gardening life.

I've heard of layering bulbs - do I have to space them out a bit more if I'm layering them?