Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prolific Climbing Rose?

Hi all,

I'm a total rose novice so need a bit of advice. I've got a section of wall about 9 feet wide and 6 tall that i want a disease resistant, easy to grow rose that will throw out loads of flowers for as long a period as possible.

Any suggestions on a good variety?

Also - when is the best time of year to plant one?

Thanks

I love Mme Alfred Carriere Mme Alfred Carrière - David Austin Roses

she is reasonably disease free (I don't find any roses totally disease free) and easily kept below 10ft, she doesn't even mind a North facing wall

Plant any time while things are dormant (but not if ground is frozen)

Comment

I like Rambling Rector. Whatever you choose will need wires or trellis, to tie it to. I would also plant a Clematis of a contrasting colour, to prolong the flowering period.

Good luck with your decision - I expect every post will recommend a different one!
      Last edited by Glutton4...; 04-01-2012, 04:18 PM.
      All the best - Glutton 4 Punishment
      Freelance shrub butcher and weed removal operative.

Comment

wiring won't be an issue as it's going next to my espalier apple!

thanks for the suggestions. any good bright pink ones?

Comment

Link here for you chilliking (with pictures ) Buy roses - thornless - David Austin Roses

Comment

thanks - Zéphirine Drouhin looks like it could fit the bill!

Comment

Beware Zephirine Drouhin is a martyr to mildew on walls, I've grown it before and know from experience
              It's even mentioned in the Ashridge nurseries write up
              Zephirine Drouhin Climbing Rose

Comment