Garden Store

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garden Store

Just a thought to pass by you peeps. I've been thinking about getting a garden store and adapting it to make a chicken coop. They seem a lot cheaper than getting a proper coop.

Yes I know I could build one, but where is the fun in that. I'm a designer, I'm into transfer technology.
    Attached Files
    I'm only here cos I got on the wrong bus.

Good thinking Mikey! Seems ideal to convert!
    My Majesty made for him a garden anew in order
    to present to him vegetables and all beautiful flowers.- Offerings of Thutmose III to Amon-Ra (1500 BCE)

Diversify & prosper

Comment

I've had a couple of spare days recently to do some thinking!!! can't think why that could be.

Is it possible for red mite to find a home in a plastic environment, such as an eglu or similar alternative. Has anyone here had a problem with mites in a plastic coop?

Comment

Red mite can get in anywhere. Although it's not as common in plastic housing, they can still infest it if cleaning/checking is not thorough enough.

Comment

Thanks RH, I thought that would be the case. Does hosing down remove them?

Comment

I'm sure high enough pressure would do, unless they are in some crevice- but then a quick poke of the finger would sort that I did read about red mite in the eglu's on the omlet forum - may be a good point of call?

Omlet Forums • View topic - Cube - red mite - a warning!
            Last edited by chris; 31-03-2011, 04:05 PM.

Comment

Hosing down a plastic house would remove them, but I suspect not kill them, so you would need to ensure the house was then moved to a new site as they are determined little critters and if not killed will eventually find their way back to the house.

Unlike lice, which need the bird's body heat to survive, red mite can survive for long periods without feeding - there have been cases reported of them living for 8+ months in uninhabited henhouses.

Comment