Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cherry Toms

Hi everyone

I am new to this (website, forums, growing veg, the lot!).

Earlier this year (March) I planted some cherry toms in tubs. I thinned them to have 2 plants in each tub.

They've flowered over the last couple of weeks.

Do you think I'll get any toms this year?

(I seem to take forever to get things done, and think I plant things too late!).

Also, I haven't fed them yet. Should I start now they're flowering?

Please help an absolute beginner!

Thanks

Hello, beetie, and welcome to the Vine!

I'm pretty new at this too, but have some tumbler toms (cherry toms) in a hanging basket, and they've started to flower about a 2 wks ago, and I now have a tiny tomato (about the size of a pea!) Hurrah!

You will certainly get tomatoes this year - I'm not sure on the feeding thing, but there are lots of clever grapes around who will be able to answer that one for both of us!

Comment

Thank you Hazel!

You've made my day, I was SO excited to get a reply!

They are tumbler toms. I'm now very hopeful that I'll get a little tom now!

I'll keep you posted.

I've just had a look at the label on the tom food, it says I should start feeding after the '1st truss has set'. Any ideas what this means?

Take care

Comment

I think it means I should be feeding my toms!

The 'truss' is the thing which has got flowers on - when it has 'set' is when there are toms growing where the flowers have just been.

If you've got time, pop over to the Sunday Night CHat thread - that's where all the regulars are at the mo - don't worry about understanding a word of it, just dive in and say 'hello'!

Comment

Make sure you feed them as well. I feed mine with a tea bag soaked in water a couple of times a week and once evry couple of weeks I put chicken pellets scattered on. I've already had to give tomatoes away as there are too many,

Comment