Squash Fanatics!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Squash Fanatics!

Hi all Just wondering if there are any other squash fanatics, like me, out there? If so - what varieties are you growing? Any tips on growing specific varieties and what is your favourite? Any tips in general? I'm a general newbie to veg gardening, so this is my first official squash fanatic year - I only have a small patch for this year, but hoping to get an allotment soon, so the range will expans for next year! Happy Squashing!

Take care

Pete

I've got real fasicination with squashes.

This year we're growing:

Butternut Squash
    Sweet Dumpling Squash
    Jack Be Little Pumpkins
    Ball Courgettes
    Courgettes

Have only ever grown courgettes before, so this is a real learning curve for us!

Comment

I'm only a fanatic about one squash.... Gem squash. I love the round squashes and are fantastic to eat. I have grown them but I planted them in ground gave plenty of water and let nature take it's course. As I let them run rather than staking them upwards there was no need as far as I could see to support the squash... but I've heard you need to put something under squashes if you stake them upwards... a net, a brick etc depending on how high the squash is on the stalk. Good luck wiht all the squash growing.
      Look not from the mind, but from the soul. For the life that is coming is already before us, waiting to open up the world. Just look more closely. Find the eyes to see. - Celestine Prophecy 1st insight

Visit my blog: http://wheatleyswheels.blogspot.com

Comment

Did some one mention Squashes???