Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planting out advice please

Hi there

Please forgive me for asking lots of questions but I am very new to growing veg (my first year with a plot) and was hoping to pick the brains of you pro's out there

The ground is nearly there hence the reason why we have tried to start things off at home, in the spare room... We will be late starters this year but hope to learn lots in prep for next year. Currently we have pot,runners, onions and garlic growing down the plot.

Dwarf french beans - I have 5 plants, which need planting out - do they need support? They currently have support as they were a little bendy.

Courgettes - My plants all have 2 leaves and starting to get some more coming up in between them - is this the right time to plant these out too?

Broad beans - I have read somewhere about planting these in double rows and making some form of rectangluar box around them with canes and string - I honestly think that they each need their own support for the moment, can I do this or will they get a little stronger once they are in situ?

Sweetcorn - we did have 10 plants but it looks like I have killed 5 off . My mum said something about over watering or not giving them enough room in the pots. Can I still take the other down the plot and sow some seeds directly into the ground?

With all of these - will it be ok to take these down the plot today, leave them overnight to harden off and plant them tomorrow?

Many thanks for reading my post and sorry to bombard you with all the questions.

Thanks again

Giley

Hi Giley, I'll try and remember all the questions!
    Dwarf French - I usually don't support them but some people do. It's up to you. If they trail a bit you will get the ends of the beans slug nibbled so if they are looking a bit bendy, I'd go for it.