Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fleece masterclass

Hi newbie here, can someone educate me?
    I started a half plot on my local allotment in the New Year and I'm enjoying it a lot. I dug most of the eleven beds in January/February and covered a couple of them with cheap fleece from my local The Range. I must say it did work well, because when I lifted it to start work about a month ago, the weeds on the fleeced plot were many times the size of those on the unfleeced plots!
    Now I've been reading about using heavy duty woven fleece like covers, to protect brassicas (and others) from caterpillars etc. and am completely confused.
    Can someone tell me the difference between woven and unwoven and different sizes for different uses. I'm looking to buy online but have no idea what I want.
    I'll also need to protect my fruit bushes and strawberry beds soon, what type of netting do I need, and how do I fix it?
    Sorry so many questions, but with social distancing I can't go chatting to my fellow, much more experienced, allotment owners.

Hi Les - let's try to cheer you up!!
    Fleece is for protection - from frost and pests like cabbage white butterflies. I don[t use it myself so have no idea about the differences in density - but my guess is that the heavier ones will last longer than the flimsy ones

Weed membrane or cardboard is used to cover beds to stop weeds growing.

A fruit cage is the best thing to protect your fruit from birds (a frame covered in small gauge net. Remember that the bees need access to pollinate the fruit so you don't want to exclude everything.

Much the same for strawberries but not so tall!. Some of us make hoops out of water pipe and cover those with netting.

Comment

Sorry, I don't use fleece, so I can't answer your question. But plenty of knowledgeable people here, so I'm sure somebody will be along later.

Meanwhile, hello and welcome. Hope you have a great growing year.

Comment