Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to growing veggies!

Hi Everyone,

I've just joined today as I've found this forum to be filled with lots of great information

I am just starting out, i have purchased a cold frame to assist in my growing. I was looking for some advice on the best way to start using this cold frame (should i put the cold frame on slabs or just in the soil? how regularly do i water the seedlings? should i mix the compost with garden soil?).

I hope to grow the usual veggies (lettuce, tomato, carrots etc) and herbs (chilli, coriander etc).

I live just outside of Glasgow. Honestly, i'm a keen learner but i have no clue where to begin!

Also: My neighbour had planted strawberries last year but has since not bothered and i asked if i could take it (is there anyway to rejuvenate?) it has sprouted but nothing except the smallest strawberries are left.

Look forward to any advice provided.

Nice to meet you all,
    Linzee

Hi Linzee and welcome to the Forum.
    We all started somewhere, just jump in and go for it.
    I'm guessing that you'll be putting things in pots in the cold frame, not planting anything in the soil in it. If so, put the frame on slabs to give you more growing room.
    I grow seedlings and young plants in compost in pots. Once they are big enough, they're planted into the soil - no need to mix compost and soil.
    Carrots grow well in buckets as they'll give a good depth of soil and you can sievs the soil to remove any stones that would make the carrots grow in amusing shapes when they hit them.
    Tomatoes and chillies are more difficult to grow outdoors as they benefit from protection from the cold and the tomatoes from blight.

Strawberries are toughies. Cut off any dead leaves and plant it in a new spot with plenty of water to give it a kick start.

Have fun.

Comment