Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Allotment

Hi All,

After waiting for over a year for an allotment, I have now been allocated one. I am complete novice and always wanted some space to grow my own vegetables.

Does anyone know where the best place would be to start, maybe there is very good book everyone recommends etc.

All you need is on here... save the money for seeds/equipment

Maybe a pic of the plot and some details of the state it’s in, along with what you want to grow.

Dig vs no dig that’ll be the big debate that fires up first lol

Comment

Congrats on your plot, Nath and welcome to the Forum.
      You probably won't be able to post any photos until you've made about 10 posts so keep posting!.

Tell us what condition its in - weedy or recently cultivated.
      How big is it?
      Is there a shed/greenhouse/polytunnel?
      Any fruit trees/bushes/rhubarb?

What would you like to grow?

Comment

Thanks all for the messages. I did try and use the img tag but don't seem to like onedrive files.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Ave-5JawPY3agXegn1bLTsCLluuX

Hopefully that will work.

For me its the usual potatoes, carrots, onions, tomatoes. Pretty much anything.

What I need to learn is what is best month on month.

Comment

Copied your image, Nath.........

Click image for larger version

Name:	Allotment.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	2387013

Comment

Looks pretty much ready to go to me.
            Best get your potatoes and onions in as soon as possible, as they want planting before the end of April, really.

Comment

That's very neat piece of land, looks like sth been sprayed on the edges?
              What's that building in the distance?

Comment

Thanks for linking the pic.

There are some sheds around the outside of the land. I do not have one, do have a sort of locker/shed to store tools etc.