Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice please on fruit trees

Hello all,

I am interested in planting some fruit trees - apple, pear, plum, cherry on my allotment. Any advice re - suppliers/costs/planting etc would be greatly appreciated as I am not very experienced in this area.

Sue

try to get self fertile varieties otherwise you will need 2 of each fruit type from the same pollination group to get any fruit set. i advice getting from a good garden centre go by reputation and ask them for a tree that is minimum 3 years old but ask if they have got any 5 year old trees, you wont have to wait as long for fruit and you can see the health of the tree better, i would also go for a bush root stock this makes a bit smaller tree and means maintaince is easier. i have 7 trees 6 have done really well one i think may not be too happy with its location, but they look like i will get plenty of fruit from the 6. the trees will still require support when planted until the roots spread.

Comment

I've planted 3 apples and 2 pear trees so far on my plot. 2 of the apples and the pears are pruned as cordons, as I don't want more than a single tree as a proper tree (but want variety) as they would take up too much space and cause too much shade. Was looking up there over the weekend and have decided to get another 4 apples to run along with the other cordons and am also considering a plum or cherry as a fan on the edge of the plot also. So far the trees have all been Lidl specials (new plot and trying to save money) but I may well invest in some particular varieties next time so that I can get the varieties I actually want. Have only ever bought a couple of trees before for the garden at home and have bought them from Ken Muir who are very good but rather expensive.