Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Suitable dwarf apple for apple hungry hubby

Afternoon all,

Firstly, apologies if this is a repeat question...

The dear husband eats an apple or two each day and in our new garden layout has requested putting in an apple tree. I've no experience with fruit trees firstly, so what about dwarf/patio stock? Any recommendations for a couple of such trees that are heavy, reliable croppers?

For a main tree in the garden, one that doesn't need pollinating and is easy for a fruit tree novice like me, is there a suitable variety to grow? Although I have space at the bottom of our garden the border is mainly heavy shade and I imagine an apple tree needs full sun. It may well be that our patio and a dwarf variety is the better option.

Many thanks and look forward to any responses :-)

When considering apple trees, the rootstock determines the size of the tree and the grafted variety determines the type of fruit. There is a good description of the available rootstocks for apples here https://www.rhs.org.uk/fruit/fruit-trees/rootstocks

I have an apple tree on M27 which is the most dwarfing rootstock. The tree is small even though planted in the soil. It produces about 15 apples a year, more in a very good year. If you have space for a bigger tree and want more apples I would suggest getting a dwarfing or semi-dwarfing rootstock, which will give you a bigger tree with more fruit.

My apple is James Grieve, which is a very nice all round apple and readily available, but it really does depend on what sort of apple you like to eat. You can even get "family" trees with 2 or 3 varieties grafted onto the same root, the advantage of these being that they will pollinate each other. Some varieties store better than others (James Grieve does not store well) - in general mid to late season apples store better than early fruiters.