manure/compost advice

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• manure/compost advice

I am a beginner and I need some advice. I live in Dundee and I was wondering if it is too late for me to put manure or compost into the ground now.

Hi Davetosh - welcome to the Vine!

I think that it depends on what you are growing, and how fresh the manure is. If it is going to be a potato bed, I'd bung manure on in a thick layer even if it is quite fresh - after all, you aren't going to be planting anything in the bed for best part of two months, I wouldn't have thought, and it will be fine by then.

If you are going to be growing root veg in the bed, then I'd leave well alone and not add anything.

Comment

Hello Dave. Welcome to the Vine. What Hazel says is right, but why not tell us a bit more about what you want to grow and where (e.g. garden, pots or allotment).

Comment

I was thinking growing Broad Beans,courgettes,and squash that I got from the magazine

Comment

Oh sorry it`s in the front garden beside the house, I also fancied doing potatoes, herbs, leeks, lettuce, cabbage and spring onions.

Comment

Originally posted by davetosh251 View Post
            ...put manure or compost into the ground
            Don't put it INTO the ground: place it on the top of warmed, moist soil, as a mulch. Much more effective, and much less work for you (the worms will pull it into the soil, aerating as they go.

I was thinking growing ... courgettes,and squash
            Don't even think about sowing these until April
            All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment

Thank you very much for all your help. This forum is so helpful.

Comment

I was thinking growing Broad Beans,courgettes,and squash that I got from the magazine
                Start off the courgettes & squash in toilet roll middles in a warm(ish) place in mid to late April.