Growing in pop bottles

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Growing in pop bottles

I'm quite new to the allotment and have seen on the net, ways to grow veg in old 2ltr plastic pop bottles. I have an almost unlimited suply of the 2ltr and a slow suply of the big catering 5ltr bottles.

I'm going to try to grow sigle dwarf beans/peas,gherkin and peppers in the 5ltr and in the 2ltrs single beetroot, igloo(mini) cauliflower, lettuce and maybe some micro toms.

The reason I want to use old bottles is that they're free and it would make quick and easy use of space.

The reason for the 2ltr bottles is less compost cost.

I'm going to position the bottles both in the unheated greenhouse and outside.

So, anyone got any hints or tips, best veg to grow? I guess the veg have to be dwarf or micro types, will a 5 ltr pot (prob 3.5ltr to 4 ltr soil) be enough for the veg I wishng to grow? Same for the 2ltr pot?

Cheers lookig forward to advice

http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...ead_30193.html

There might be some help in this thread...

Comment

If you have an allotment you will have soil so why are you proposing to grow in compost and not in the soil? Just interested

Comment

Going to be using a mixyure of soil, compost, perhaps some mulch and manure. I have a couple of hundred bottles in mind, these can go over unused plots for this year, alowing me to work about 1/2 of my new allotment(raised beds).

Comment

Anything grown in pots needs more attention to watering - you don't need me to tell you that! So don't make extra work for yourself by growing in pop bottles, just because you have them, when you could plant direct in the soil.
          In the greenhouse is a different matter so anything that will grow to maturity in a flower pot of similar size would be suitable.- a lettuce, spring onions, radish........

Comment

I would be more tempted to use them as cloches as opposed to pots. Sorry forgive my ignorance.....welcome to the vine.