Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Novice acquired allotment, advice needed.

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Novice acquired allotment, advice needed.

Hi I have just joined this forum having just acquired an allotment after just 4 weeks wait (I waited 5 years and never got one where I used to live!) . I am a complete novice but I do have a burning desire to want to grow my own food and flowers, it s a full plot and part of it is covered in plastic sheeting, part of it is overgrown with blackberries, part of t is overgrown with weeds, the path on both sides is overgrown, the shed is knackered, the greenhouse has no glass andthe compost bins are falling apart, on the plus side there is some rhubarb, beet root and purple flowers, the location is great and although I don't have a lot of free time I do have lots of enthusiasm and initially some help to clear the site.

Any advice is welcomed, I would like to grow some things this year but I am not sure if it is to late?

Thanks

Hello Greensmen and welcome to the Forum. Could you add your location to your profile as it helps us to understand your local conditions.
    Some of the experienced allotment gardeners will be along soon but meanwhile, have a search around on the Forum and make yourself at home!

Comment

Check out the part that's under the plastic and see if it's worth sewing or planting straight into. It might only need a bit of a quick dig over and some nourishment. It's still early enough in the season to get some crops going.

You could cobble together some compost bins with falling down shed bits maybe.

As you clear a patch either cover it to stop weed regrowth or plant into it and mulch to keep weeds down and moisture in.

Just do it a bit at a time and always accept offers of help. You'll soon get there. Good luck!

Comment

Hi Greensmen, welcome. Whereabouts are you located?