Boundary issues -Couch grass at allotment

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boundary issues -Couch grass at allotment

H everyone, its my first time posting here although I'm a regular on 'rule the roost' I have a problem at the lottie and thought you would be able to help.

Our site is very small - around 17 plots, all half size and its not well run. I keep my lottie tidy but its does need re-arranging and sorting out somewhat. My neighbour on the other hand never cuts his grass - I do the middle path and I feel that I don't have enough time to sort my plot out because I am constantly having to battle the encroaching couch grass.

I will be talking to the secretary soon but am not holding out for an action to be taken. Will try the authority next.

My thoughts are that I would like to get rid of the grass on the path and put weed membrane and chippings down.

What would be the best barrier to use between the path and the neighbour's plot to stop the grass coming through no matter how high it gets?

Any ideas or suggestions very welcome.

Thanks in advance

Polo

Can you spray it as soon as it starts to grow? I would ask your Secretary and Chairman to help, also bring it up in your Meetings. Have you got a Committee, if not can you get one started and make some ground rules.
    Are the Allotments Council owned, if so, have you an Allotment Officer attached to the Council, they could also help.
    Best of Luck

Liz

Comment

Originally posted by polo View Post
      I am constantly having to battle the encroaching couch grass.
      Same here, it's annoying isn't it?

What I've done is to dig a 1' trench at the sides of my plot. This stops most of the couch coming over. Then I planted comfrey all the way up the side of the trench (on my side) to further keep it at bay

It's working so far, only a few stray roots make their way over onto my plot now.