Slow cooker recipes

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slow cooker recipes

I've just bought myself a slow cooker in a bid to move over from gas (bottled) to electricity (solar panels, so free). Anyone got any recipe recommendations? I'm a beginner, so easy ones ideally. Better still if they were high-fibre. I'd welcome advice on cooking brown rice, other whole grains and pulses too. Any good recipe books you'd suggest?
    Thanks.

Snoop here's a few of sites I use..

this one has mostly beans

Beans - A Year of Slow Cooking

rice

Search results for rice - A Year of Slow Cooking

[slow cooker] Results from EatingWell

Slow Cooker Recipes By Category - Slow Cooking Perfected

Slow Cooker Recipes Archives (justaveragejen.com)

Last edited by Bren In Pots; 07-03-2024, 09:47 AM.
    Location....East Midlands.

Comment

Fantastic, Bren. Thanks. There's a lot there to get me started.

Edited to ask: when I was looking for slow cooker threads, I came across a post of yours saying you were cooking mushy peas in yours. Do you have a recipe in particular you use for that? If so, would you mind sharing it and letting me know what size slow cooker it's suitable for? Thanks.
      Last edited by Snoop Puss; 07-03-2024, 10:57 AM.

Comment

I mainly just use mine for stews and braising steak etc, but this Christmas I made mincemeat in it (more or less Delia's recipe) which was a success.

Comment

Snoop for peas I soak them overnight in water that’s been boiled, next day rinse in cold water.
          Place peas in slow cooker adding water to cover them.
          Cook on high for 4 hours or 8 on low.
          You can add any amount of peas so long as you leave a couple of inches between the peas and the lid.

edited to add a link

https://recipes.net/articles/how-to-cook-dried-peas/
          Last edited by Bren In Pots; 07-03-2024, 02:36 PM.

Comment

^Perfect. Thanks, Bren.

Comment