Wanted: Apple Crumble recipe

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted: Apple Crumble recipe

We've got a cooking apple tree at the back of the garden, with some seriously huge apples on (they are very tart, so we've deduced they are cooking apples), and I've rescued them from the floor before they go rotten.

Does anyone have a recipe for apple crumble? I'm not a novice cook, so it can be as complicated as you like!

Thanks!!

You need to speak to my Daughter OWG, she make Crumble to die for, It's even better than mine and thats saying something (I'm know for my modesty by the way )

Crumble topping
    75g (3oz) butter (unsalted)
    50g (2oz) ground Almonds (or porridge oats or 50:50 mix)
    125g (40z) caster sugar
    150g (5oz) plain flower

put it all in a food processor & blitz till it looks like crumble !

I usually make double the quantity - thats how I maintain my figure

For the other bit, a lot depends on whether the apples cook to a fluff or retain their shape. I always think it's nice to have some lumps in it to chew on rather than baby food with a crumble topping. So assuming they keep their shape:-

5 or 6 large apples
    25g (1oz) butter
    50-65g (2 - 2.5oz) caster sugar

peel & core the apples & roughly chop. Melt the butter ina pan, ad the apples & cooke over a high heat till just soft (sort of Al dente if it were pasta) turning frequently. Add the sugar to taste & disolved.

then fill the baking dish with the filling, add the crumble mix to the top sprinkle with a bit more sugar & bake for 25-30 mins in a pre heated oven (180c -160c fan assisted - Gasmark 4) till golden brown serve with lashings of Birds custard (or this nancy cream muck if you must )

Also nice with Blackberriers added.

Also as winter draws on (I'll resist the obvious joke LJ ) how about backed apples with mince meat filling?
    ntg
    Never be afraid to try something new.
    Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark.