Pickling beetroot

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pickling beetroot

While i love pickled beetroot this is my first year actually doing it. I have row about ping pong ball size that I want to to.
    Questions:
    Would somebody please be able to tell me a good method please and also could I use white wine vinegar instead of malt vinegar because I find some brands really strong and would like to keep some of the beetroot taste if poss.

Thanks in anticipation
    Kirsty
    Kirsty b xx

In other recipes I've made, if I havent got enough of one type of vinegar, I've just swopped it for another - things turned out OK. Will check for you tho. Bernie
    Bernie aka DDL

Appreciate the little things in life because one day you will realise they are the big things

Comment

I use my 'Jams, chutneys etc.' book by Marguerite Patten -
      She suggests slicing or dicing your cooked beetroot and putting into boiling salted water (1tablespoon to a pint) - high but if you don't brine it it doesn't keep so well. Simmer in this for 10 minutes.
      Meantime, prepare spiced vinegar - (tablespoon of pickling spices to the pint of vinegar - of your choice - boil together for 5 - 15 mins depending on how spicy you want it.)
      Strain the boiling vinegar over the hot beet in the jars and seal.
      Last edited by Flummery; 20-06-2007, 09:27 AM. Reason: spelling
      Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

Thanks Flum amd Bernie
        I take it that I would sterilise the jars as I do for jams and stuff? (oven low heat for 15ish mins)
        Thanks again, much appreciated.
        Kirsty
        Last edited by kirsty b; 20-06-2007, 09:59 AM.
        Kirsty b xx

Comment

Yep, I put mine in the oven on low while I'm doing the faffing.
          Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

pickled me.