Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wax disks query

This is a complete novice question

I made rhubarb and ginger jam at the weekend and when bottling up, thought I'd use the nice wax disks I'd bought for my jars. The jars have plastic on the underside of the lid, so I believe I don't strictly need the disks, but thought it would be nice.

But .... is it shiny (smooth) side up or down?

Thanks

Caro
    Caro

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day

I think that I'm right in saying it's the waxy (smooth) side down, Caro.

Jam sounds lovely!

Comment

I put mine wax side down as well

Comment

Defo wax side down.

Some of us live in the past, always talking about back then. Some of us live in the future, always planning what we are going to do. And, then there are those, who neither look behind or ahead, but just enjoy the moment of right now.

Which one are you and is it how you want to be?

Comment

For wax discs, shiny side down.
          For plants, green side up!
          Whoever plants a garden believes in the future.

www.vegheaven.blogspot.com Updated March 9th - Spring

Comment

Thanks everyone

I've now run out of garden produce but maybe I'll go check hedgerows for blackberries at the weekend for my next batch, and I'll use the wax disks with confidence!
            Caro

Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach him how to fish, and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day

Comment

Does anyone know if it's possible to buy waxed discs without having to have the cellophane covers, rubber bands and mingy little labels as well?

Comment

Lakeland sell them in just packs of 1lb jar or 2lb jar size. That's what I use.

Comment

Thanks Flum - you're a mine of information!

Comment

Originally posted by Flummery View Post
                    Lakeland sell them in just packs of 1lb jar or 2lb jar size. That's what I use.