Wine Making Virgin

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wine Making Virgin

We have about 20 grape vines, last year lots of grapes went to waste! Sooooooooooo I'm going to have a go at wine making, on my last trip to the UK I raided Wilkos for all the necessary bits and bobs, the only thing I couldn't bring back were the demijohns. Do you have any tips/advice for a total beginner?

Good book for beginners......... First steps in winemaking By C.J.J.Berry
    The river Trent is lovely, I know because I have walked on it for 18 years.
    Brian Clough

Comment

Seconding Bubblewrap's advice. Brilliant book for starting up making wine. You can also find loads of stuff on ebay.
      Happy Gardening,
      Shirley

Comment

1 gallon(or the new-money equivalent) make servicable fermenting jars.

Comment

Best advice - sterilise everything you use, don't let the wine have too much air as it ferments - ie proper airlocks on containers which have very close-fitting lids and don't let air in, and try and keep the fermenting wine at a constant temperature, lots of my demijohns are sticking (where the fermentation stops although they should be still going) at the moment because they have been subject to too much temp fluctuation.

Dwell simply ~ love richly

Comment

Originally posted by Polly Fouracre View Post
            1 gallon(or the new-money equivalent) make servicable fermenting jars.
            I meant to say,1 gall. WATER BOTTLES!! make servicable fermentation jars!!
            Forgive me,I am an old woman.

Comment

Silly statment 'cause you are in spain at the mo - but I have several demijons and various other wine making kit looking for a home at the mo.

Anyone interested? No charge but you have to be able to collect.
              The weeks and the years are fine. It's the days I can't cope with!

Comment

spanish wine, lovely