Home made Claret type...what to use?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home made Claret type...what to use?

I've got shed-loads of elderberries; would I need some kind of grape concentrate as well?

If I could get it to taste like a good cheap Claret I'd be pretty pleased.

I'm a newbie amateur in a sense - I used to make dreadful wine when I was a teenager...my palate is a touch drier now

Crosbie

According to my bible (CJ Berry's First Steps in Winemaking) you need 3lb of Elderberries, 3 1/2 lb sugar, 1 gallon water, yeast and nutrient, and thats all!

Crush the berries lightly (once removed from stalks), then pour on the gallon of water (boiling), let it cool to 21C (70F) before added the yeast and nutrient. Let it sit covered for 3 days, then strain onto the sugar and then into a dark demijohn (not fully filled as fermentation is vigorous) and fit a cotton wool bung. Once initial vigorous fermentation is finished, fit airlock and leave until fermentation is complete. Siphom off into clean dark bottles and store, best if left for at least 6 months before consumption!

HTH
    Blessings
    Suzanne (aka Mrs Dobby)

'Garden naked - get some colour in your cheeks'!

The Dobby's Pumpkin Patch - an Allotment & Beekeeping blogspot!
    Last updated 16th April - Video intro to our very messy allotment!
    Dobby's Dog's - a Doggy Blog of pics n posts - RIP Bella gone but never forgotten xx
    On Dark Ravens Wing - a pagan blog of musings and experiences

Comment

Winemaking with Elderberries (Sambucus Nigra) - Wines at home

Have a little look through this lot......

Comment

I've made 3 or 4 wines with elderberries, and find that if you use a lot of them, fermentation stops.
        They make a very sweet heavy, port like wine on their own (which is nice: just add the sugar in stages so it doesn't overwhelm and kill the yeast).

Or, mix 50/50 with blackberries or something. I'll rummage in the old thread and bump any recipes for you to look at