Strawberries - scoolboy error?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strawberries - scoolboy error?

Hi, major novice here and have just planted strawberries in a (specially purchased) pot with gaps on the edge as it rises (you know the type, but I'm not sure how to describe better). However having just seen a similar pot advertised it recommends using trailling strawberries. This seems completely sensible, however I have used normal strawberries (roman).

What will happen? Will my strawberries try to grow up and will then snap off; will they not yield adequately, or will they magically let gravity turn them into trailing plants?

Basically, should I did them all up, plant them somwehere else and buy some new plants?

All advice very gratefull received..........Thanks

I think they'll be fine, they will all trail to some extent - ie the fruit and runners will hang down and they leaves go towards the light.
    With your strawberry planter you must remember to water and feed to ensure the best crop!
    And welcome to the vine, where are you, love the name!

Comment

Welcome to the Vine Not Percy

A tip I was given is to put a length of hosepipe with holes drilled in it down the middle of the pot and water into the pipe as well as around the pot, that way, your plants get a bit extra water around the roots.
      Last edited by scarey55; 05-05-2009, 12:20 PM.
      A garden is a lovesome thing, God wot! (Thomas Edward Brown)

Comment

I think they'll be fine. Strawberry stems are fairly tough, so I doubt that overhanging will cause many stems to break.

Non-trailing strawberries are less likely to be eaten by wandering slugs.

We took last years runners, put an equal number of each type into each barrel and here they are, six months later;

Comment

Your strawberry pots are looking pretty good FB

I got my first flower today so i'm pretty pleased considering it's the first time i've tried growing them.