Alpine strawberries

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alpine strawberries

I want to plant some alpine strawberries in my small rockery partly as ornamentals and partly because I love the fruits and haven't had them for years (why do provincial greengrocers never stock things worth buying?). I've never tried growing them before so any tips would be appreciated. Do I treat them like ordinary strawbs (I grow Gambridge champion) or is there something else I should do? Planting times? Feeding etc.? Someone said you can get two crops a year. How? I can usually Google for info like this but there seems to be nothing worth knowing on the web.
    Why didn't Noah just swat those 2 greenflies?

Why are they called apartments when they are all stuck together?
    >
    >If flying is so safe, why do they call the airport the terminal?

I planted one alpine strawberry plant a number of years ago and now have them running riot on the patio. I never trim runners and never do anything bar harvest the yummy fruits.
    Happy Gardening,
    Shirley

Comment

Me neither bought about ten plants to France with me - coals and Newcastle comes to mind - and they now cover an area about 12 sq metres.

I don't do anything to them except clear out the dead growth in March and then leave them to it, they propogate themselves and always give us 2 crops per year - it's what they do naturally.

And we can buy them here, usually about €2 a punnet in season.
      TonyF, Dordogne 24220

Comment

I've never seen them on sale in London but I don't shop in the posh shops like Harrods and Fortnums.

I'm going to grow from seed. I can't remember whether they're a sacrificial crop or companion planting
        If a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing to excess

Comment