Seedlings and Unheated Greenhouse

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Seedlings and Unheated Greenhouse

I'm new to gardening and have quite a few packs of Tomato seeds and Peppers where some packets state you can start them in late February. Now I live in a 2 bed bungalow so not many windowsills to be had. Do I start them off indoors on the windowsills I have in separate pots? or can I put in an unheated greenhouse in late Feb and start them off there thank you.

P'S how many times do you have to transplant them into different size pots before moving to greenhouse growbags.

Hello Jane - this thread may help you http://www.growfruitandveg.co.uk/gra...eed_95615.html

Comment

Thanks for the link, will give it a good read.

Comment

I've gardened in a roughly similar situation for a while.

My plan is :-
        a) germinate the seeds on damp kitchen roll in a plastic box in the airing cupboard or on top of a radiator some time mid-February
        2) once the rootlet shows, transfer immediately to warmed seed trays using a knife point or a small sharp stick - keep indoors
        3) Once the leaves start to show, move somewhere light but warm - windowsill perhaps or propogator
        4) Transfer to pots at about 3" high -> in greenhouse as long as the weather is not frosty
        5) Transplant to larger/deeper containers when the roots fill the pots.

Points to bear in mind :-
        a) restricting the roots at any stage will result in poorer plants
        b) the weather is a variable you can't control, so splitting the seed you have in to two or more lots and starting one a few weeks later, gives you a back up sowing in case you need them.

Comment