Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cucumber problem

Hi all,

I'm growing Marketmore and crystal lemon cucumbers and having problems with them tasting horrible. They're both outdoor varieties, so the issue shouldn't be with the male flowers. I grew both last year and both varieties were fine so I think it's unlikely to be cross-pollination troubles. The crystal lemons were the first to start it, with a horrible taste, but then one of my marketmores which have been fine until now (although I've only had a couple) was also disgusting.

I'll be starting hand pollinating from tonight just in case it is cross pollination, but it will be a couple of weeks before I know if this is helping.

Does anyone have any other theories?

I'm no expert Fiona but this does sound like cross pollination... maybe you were just lucky last year?

I wonder if you've hand pollinated, can they still be cross-pollinated by insects - or is it 'done' once they've been pollinated once?!

Comment

I'm glad you started this thread as I have the same problem. I'm growing Telegraph and Ponam Khera the Khera taste great but the two telegraph that have ripened so far are really bitter.
      Dogs have masters, cats have slaves, and horses are just wonderful

Comment

sigpic“Gorillas are very intelligent, but they don't have to be as delicate as chimps -- they can just smash open the termite nest,”
        --------------------------------------------------------------------
        Official Member Of The Nutters Club - Rwanda Branch.
        -------------------------------------------------------------------
        Sent from my ZX Spectrum with no predictive text..........
        -----------------------------------------------------------
        KOYS - King Of Yellow Stickers..............

Comment

Originally posted by Bigmallly View Post