growing purple sprouting broccoli

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• growing purple sprouting broccoli

Hello everyone, I have just registered today so im abit unsure as to what to do, so if this is the wrong place for my question then I apologise.

I planted some purple sprouting broccoli in my garden on the veg patch a week or so ago, I started it of from seed in my conservatory then planted it out when it reached about 10cm tall and its not doing very well at all, so I was wondering if there are any tips that can help liven it up. Did i do some thing wrong? as i am very new at this.

I also have the broccoli seeds that came free with junes addition of the GYO magazine, can i plant these in pots as i dont have any space in my garden to grow it?

Greenwitch
    xxx

Welcome to the Vine greenwitch (are you named after the Susan Cooper book? One of my faves )

PSB is generally a slow growing plant, is there anything particularly wrong with yours, or is it just not growing very fast?

The seeds whitch came with GYO will probably be ok in pots, but you might not get many to a pot. Depends on size of pot of course, but a flower bucket sized pot would probably only take one plant. You'd get a few cuttings from each one though, I think.

Comment

Hi Sarah,

My name i have been called a witch from time to time due to me growing herbs and things in my garden and making alot of my own remadies and things so when thinking of a user name i thought this one would work well.

As for my broccolli, well it looks sad, its not done anything since i planted it out, it doesnt look completly dead either just abit un happy.

Think i will try a a couple in a pot see how they go.

Thanks for your help.

Greenwitch
      xxx

Comment

Did you harden it off, or did you plunge it from a nice warm conservatory straight into cold, dank Yorkshire soil?
        All gardeners know better than other gardeners." -- Chinese Proverb.

Comment