strawberries

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• strawberries

Ok, im new to all this, so please dont laugh!
    I want to have strawbs in hanging baskets next summer. Should i be buying plants now and putting them in or should i be growing them from seed next spring??
    Can they also stay in the hanging baskets perminantly?
    Oooh and anyone know any good varieties for them?
    Thanks Charlie
    I have no idea what im doin!

I don't know about growing strawberry from seeds but I think it's just as easier to buy the plant from garden centres or even B&Q stores during Spring for early variety and then in late Summer for late growing variety.

I'm not sure that I've come across a specific hanging basket strawberry (that you would get with tumbling/trailing type cherry tomatoes) but there are those variety promoted as being suitable for 'container growing'.

I got a set of 3 Strawberry bare roots from Wilko for £1.50 earlier this year and they've grown into fine healthy plants although I only had 2 fruits! I had lots of runners from these plants from which I've cut and potted them into 9 more strawberry plants so I don't know if raising from seeds is that cost effective. They say for first year, you have to compromise strawberry fruits for runners so maybe that is why I didn't get much fruit but next year, the runner will have to go.

It's possible you may be able to get late growing strawberry (harvest Aug) around this time or later at a reduced price from garden centres but this mean you have to wait for next year August for strawberry. Would you rather have the Spring onwards one? Or you could have both early and late variety.

As I'm fairly new myself, it'll be useful to hear what other seasoned strawberry growers have to say on this. I'm only talking from my experience from this year.
    Food for Free

Comment