Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

is it too late for my aubergines to fruit?

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• is it too late for my aubergines to fruit?

I have 6 plants, all a couple of feet high and pretty bushy, but only one has any fruit. Do you think it's too late for fruit to set now? Should I compost the plants and focus on my chillis, which are finally fruiting!

damn this wet and gloomy summer - it's my first year of an allotment and it's all been a bit hit and miss with the blight and the weeds.

I should be so lucky as to have even one that's set! This is the worst year I've had for aubergenes - hopefully it's the weather to blame and not me! The plants are wonderfully healthy and have been flowering for weeks but no sign of fruit. Am guessing it's getting a bit late now unless you have a minature fruiting variety but will be interested to see what folks who really know about this have to say.

Some of us live in the past, always talking about back then. Some of us live in the future, always planning what we are going to do. And, then there are those, who neither look behind or ahead, but just enjoy the moment of right now.

Which one are you and is it how you want to be?

Comment

aubergines

Not a single fruit on mine yet either but a fair few flowers - however mine have red spider mite which I have only just found a suitable treatment for so now I'm thinking myself it might be too late. Oh well... not sure whether I'll bother next year as last year I only managed two small fruits per plant anyway!

Comment

I think the best remedy for spidermite is a predator mite...persimillus phytosylis? i think its called but probably not spelled. I've got a friend who breeds them if you want her number then PM me.

Mine are only just flowering but looking heathy so i'm hoping like the rest of you

Comment

Hi,