Growing raspberries in clay soil

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Growing raspberries in clay soil

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site and could do with some advice.

I'm going to try growing some raspberries next year, which I have never tried before. The patch I have set aside for this turns out to consist of clay soil, which I have also never tried to grow plants in before (we've only recently moved to this area). I've done a bit of reading around the subject and overall, it appears that raspberries shouldn't do too badly in this type of soil if I try to improve it somewhat.

While digging out the weeds and plants in the soon-to-be raspberry patch, I have had to remove the top 4 or 5 inches of clay soil as the roots of the plants had completely knitted it together. Since I'm going to have to fill it up with something, I was wondering whether you had any advice as to what to fill it with to improve the clay soil. I was thinking of digging soil improver into the clay to improve drainage, which is quite poor, and then filling the 4 inch hole that will be left with a mix of topsoil and compost. Does that sound reasonable?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Last edited by catgirl; 02-10-2013, 10:09 AM.

I am no expert but I have very heavy clay soil and only mixed in a small amount of general purpose compost and the loganberries and tayberries I planted this year have grown massively out of control. I planted 4 raspberry canes from wilkos of which only 1 grew (I suspect the rest were dead when planted) which is not big but fruited like mad.

Comment

Nowadays I favour no soil amendment because it can make things worse unless done over a very large area.

If you dig a hole in clay, it's going to fill with water if you put anything more porous than clay into the hole. You may then end up with roots drowning and rotting in the underground stagnant pond you've created.