Potatoes - which compost!

Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Potatoes - which compost!

I want to grow potatoes in containers and was wondering which is the best compost to use? John Innes No. 3 is what I have.

Thanks

Hello JamesC, I'm not an expert although some of the guys seem to be and maybe you'll get a different answer from them. I'm growing my potatoes in pots and using the compost from grow bags as that s what I had. I put a good layer of manure (the type bought from the garden centre) in the bottom. I don't really think it matters what type of compost you use but it is important to feed them and make sure they are adequately watered. If using big containers I put a tube down the middle to make sure water gets right down to the roots. Hope this is helpul. Good luck.

From each according to his ability, to each according to his needs.

Comment

Hi JamesC,
      I'm with Alice on the 'anything you've got' compost method. I normally just use multipurpose & anything leftover from old compost/grow bags. You can use compost from pots you've used before for other plants as long as it has no diseases in it as the seed tuber provides most of the nutrients the plant needs, it's just the watering that's important.
      Into every life a little rain must fall.

Comment

Thanks for your replies.

I will give it a go then - seems that potatoes aren't that fussy!

One thing about watering - I tend to overwater things. Can you do this with potatoes? If they are in potato barrel say, do they need watering every day at this time of year? Just don't want to rot the tubers as I understand that's what can happen?

Thanks

Comment