Collapse

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Figs in the Southeast?

Hi everyone!

I don't know if anyone can help, but I'm trying to grow the fig "Brown Turkey" and I've never done it before. I was hoping to put it in a large pot with John Innes #3 on a south-facing, sunny, sheltered site and cross my fingers.

I've heard that to make sure it fruits, I have to contain the roots somehow, or I will end up with a large 30 foot non-fruiting tree instead. Is pot-growing still suitable and will it fruit?

Has anyone ever tried to do this before? Do I have to do anything special to it (soil-wise, water-wise?)?? How long before I am eating a fig? (One year, two years??)

I would be very grateful for any advice!!!!!!!
    Changing the world, one plant at a time.

Growing it in a container/pot will restrict the roots, stress it and cause it to fruit more than in the ground. I have one in the pot which is about 3 years old now and I got 3 delicious fruits off it last year. The key is to remove any young figs in November so that it directs all its energy into making one lot of fruit per season. Normally in its native habitat it can fruit 3 times a year but our UK winters don't allow a long enough growing season. I overwinter mine in the greenhouse, but it's probably not necessary.
    Mark

Vegetable Kingdom blog

Comment

My dad had one in Essex that was about 10 years old in a pot sunk in the ground - very prolific -20-30 fruits last year!

Comment

Originally posted by vicky View Post
        My dad had one in Essex that was about 10 years old in a pot sunk in the ground - very prolific -20-30 fruits last year!
        Do we have the same Dad?
        All the best - Glutton 4 Punishment
        Freelance shrub butcher and weed removal operative.

Comment

Thanks everyone!